Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Massive Explosion in East Harlem

Posted By on Wed, Mar 12, 2014 at 8:55 AM

WABC-TV has reported that there was an explosion around 9:30 a.m. causing two buildings to collapse on 116th Street and Park Avenue in Upper Manhattan on Wednesday. There have been 15 injured and two confirmed deaths, according to WABC-TV. Reportedly, over 200 firefighters responded to the scene.

The cause of the explosion is unknown at this time, but Con Edison confirms that it was responding to a report of a gas odor in the area just before the explosion occurred. The call came in at 9:13 a.m. from a resident who indicated the odor may have been coming from outside the building. Two con edison crews were dispatched at 9:15 a.m. They arrived just after the explosion occurred. The street is served by an 8-inch low-pressure gas main. Con Edison is checking gas lines and working to isolate any leaks.

Photos from the scene:





(via: WABC-TV NEW YORK, NY)

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Something Something Theatre presents "What Every Girl Should Know" (2014) by Monica Byrne

Catholic reform school girls in 1914 discover Margaret Sanger and her message of freedom through birth control.… More

@ The Community Playhouse Thu., Feb. 9, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 10, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 11, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., Feb. 12, 2-4 p.m., Fri., Feb. 17, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 18, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., Feb. 19, 2-4 p.m., Fri., Feb. 24, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., Feb. 25, 7:30-9:30 p.m. and Sun., Feb. 26, 2-4 p.m. 1881 N. Oracle Road.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation