Thursday, October 11, 2012

Love Your Teacher Week

Posted By on Thu, Oct 11, 2012 at 10:26 AM

Educator Appreciation Week, as it is officially called, takes place the week of Saturday, Oct. 13 through Oct. 20. Barnes and Noble on the eastside (5130 E. Broadway Blvd.) will host a series of events to celebrate teachers.

149714751.jpg

Here's a rundown of the events:

On Saturday, Oct. 13, at 4 p.m., an opening reception takes place where educators can get discounts, giveaways and free classroom resources. On Sunday, Oct. 14, at 1 p.m., learn about grant basics and raising funds for your school. On Monday, Oct. 15, at 4 p.m., check out new titles and authors in children's literature. On Tuesday, Oct. 16, at 4 p.m., learn about home schooling and resources. On Tuesday, Oct. 16, at 5 p.m., author Karen Stryker discusses her book Silent Think Time: How to Bring Virtues Back Into Our Home, Schools, Counseling and Work.

On Thursday, Oct. 18, at 4 p.m., get an introduction to using NOOK. On Friday, Oct. 19, at 6:30 p.m., listen to author James Vollbracht (Stopping at Every Lemonade Stand: How to Create a Culture That Cares for Kids). On Friday, Oct. 19, at 7:30 p.m., the winner of the My Favorite Teacher Contest is announced and TUSD Deputy Superintendent Dr. Menconi attends. On Saturday, Oct. 20, at 11 a.m., enjoy tea, pastries and a raffle for door prizes.

Tags: , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

See How They Run by Phillip King

See How They Run is an uproarious comedy set in the idyllic village of Merton-cum-Middlewick, England during… More

@ CPAC Community Performance & Art Center Fri., March 31, 7-9 p.m., Sat., April 1, 7-9 p.m., Sun., April 2, 3-5 p.m., Fri., April 7, 7-9 p.m., Sat., April 8, 7-9 p.m. and Sun., April 9, 3-5 p.m. 1250 W Continental Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. In the Flesh: The Blind Suns, The Mission Creeps and Louise Le Hir at Sky Bar. (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Streets of This Town: Late Night Hunger. (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Liz Needs a Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. A Dispatch From Tucson Hip-Hop Fest 2017, Lando Chill, Jaca Zulu, Murs, and More! (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Local Danish Bakery Serves Up Savory Desserts (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation