Tuesday, December 28, 2010

New Southside Eats: Los Guarachez de Don Shuy

Posted By on Tue, Dec 28, 2010 at 2:10 PM

food_truck_1_009.JPG

Kool Tortas, a Mexican sandwich and taco shop at 4547 S. Sixth Ave., has closed and a new restaurant called Los Guarachez de Don Shuy has opened there. It serves Mexican food and is decorated sort of like a taco stand.

Gurarachez (which means "sandals" and is also spelled huaraches) are a popular street food in Mexico City. They are made by frying masa formed into the shape of a sandal and topping it with beans, meat, sauce, cheese and vegetables.

We haven’t eaten at the new restaurant yet, but will be back soon with a full report.

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by Adam Borowitz

Today | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat
Butterfly Magic

Butterfly Magic @ Tucson Botanical Gardens

Through May 31, 9:30 a.m.-3 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Something Something Theatre presents "Dov and Ali" (2016) by Anna Ziegler

A Jewish teacher and his young Muslim student speak as equals about fate and free will, family… More

@ The Community Playhouse Thu., April 6, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Fri., April 7, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., April 8, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., April 9, 2-6 p.m., Fri., April 14, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., April 15, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., April 16, 2-4 p.m., Fri., April 21, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sat., April 22, 7:30-9:30 p.m. and Sun., April 23, 2-4 p.m. 1881 N. Oracle Road.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Keep On Poppin' On: Pop-Up Shops Gain Popularity in Tucson as Entrepreneurs use the Concept to Reinvent Their Craft (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Libraries Trump Hate (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Cinema Clips: Sandy Wexler (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Trouble in Republican City Over Voucher Expansion? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. The Pima County Fair is Back and You Don't Want to Miss It (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation